Robotic Arm Classification: Degrees of Freedom (DoF)

Degree of Freedom (1-Dof)

Degrees of freedom (DOF) in robotic arms refers to the number of independent motions or axes of rotation that the arm can achieve. The degrees of freedom in a robotic arm determine its flexibility, range of motion, and ability to manipulate objects in space.

One Degrees of Freedom (1-DoF)

One Degree of Freedom (1-DOF): A robotic arm with only one joint or axis of rotation. It can perform simple linear or rotational motions along a single axis.

Two Degrees of Freedom (2-DoF)

Two Degrees of Freedom (2-DOF): Robotic arms with two joints or axes of rotation. They can achieve motion in two perpendicular planes, such as up-down and left-right.

Three Degrees of Freedom (3-DoF)

Three Degrees of Freedom (3-DOF): Robotic arms with three joints or axes of rotation. They can move in three-dimensional space, allowing for more complex motions like reaching, lifting, and rotating objects.

Six Degrees of Freedom (6-DoF)

Six Degrees of Freedom (6-DOF): This is the most common classification for industrial robotic arms. These arms have six joints or axes of rotation, providing them with a wide range of motion. They can move in three translational directions (x, y, and z) and three rotational directions (roll, pitch, and yaw), allowing for tasks involving precise positioning and orientation.

Seven Degrees of Freedom (7-DoF)

Seven Degrees of Freedom (7-DOF) or higher: Some advanced robotic arms may have more than six degrees of freedom. Additional joints or axes of rotation can provide enhanced flexibility and dexterity, allowing for more complex and precise movements.